Information Possibly Outdated
The information presented on this page was originally released on August 17, 2017. It may not be outdated, but please search our site for more current information. If you plan to quote or reference this information in a publication, please check with the Extension specialist or author before proceeding.
Get training, certification on Produce Safety Rule
RAYMOND, Miss. -- Produce growers, packers, industry suppliers and others can learn the requirements of the new federal Produce Safety Rule during one of three upcoming workshops around the state.
The workshops will cover produce best safety practices and outline the rule requirements pertaining to soil amendments, land use, agricultural water, wildlife and domesticated animals, worker health and hygiene, postharvest handling and sanitation, and developing a Farm Food Safety Plan. Individuals who attend the entire workshop and submit the proper paperwork will earn certification required by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
Workshops are scheduled for the following places and times:
- Hattiesburg on Aug. 28 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the Mississippi State University Extension Service office in Forrest County, located at 952 Sullivan Dr. Registration deadline is Aug. 25.
- Hernando on Sept. 7 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the Extension office in DeSoto County, located at 3260 Highway 51 South. Registration deadline is Sept. 5.
- Verona on Sept. 8 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the North Mississippi Research and Extension Center, located at 5421 Highway 145. Registration deadline is Sept. 5.
Registration is $25 per person for Mississippi residents and $125 for nonresidents. The fee includes refreshments and lunch.
The Produce Safety Rule is part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture Food Safety Modernization Act aimed at preventing contamination of fresh fruits and vegetables during growing, harvesting, packing and holding.
Under the rule, all fresh produce growers, packers and sellers who have averaged more than $25,000 annually in sales over the last three years must attend the workshop and have at least one employee certified in produce safety. Businesses that generate more than $500,000 in annual sales must comply with the rule by Jan. 1, 2018.
The workshop is hosted by MSU, the MSU Extension Service and the Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station. It is sponsored by the USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture and the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce.
For more information and to register, contact Juan Silva at 662-325-3200 or firstname.lastname@example.org.